Fort Gibraltar

Discover the sense of adventure and camaraderie!

Originally constructed at the forks of the Red and Assiniboine rivers in 1809-10, Fort Gibraltar was a North West Company trading post. It played an impressive role in the development of the Red River Settlement and the legendary conflict between the two fur trading empires: the North West and Hudson’s Bay companies.

In this atmosphere of competition and bitter rivalry our voyageurs continued to work and display their “joie de vivre” by singing, dancing and playing games. Discover this sense of adventure and camaraderie for yourself!

In the winter of 1815 Winnipeg was a very different place. Fort Gibraltar houses many different cabins filled with costumed interpreters ready to engage you in the spirit of a bygone age. Learn the trade of a NWC clerk. Watch traditional craftsmen, like the blacksmith and the carpenter, practice their trade. Listen to the melody of our ancestors through storytelling and music and discover the true meaning of the NWC motto “Perseverance” as you explore our exciting past.

Interpretation Hours

February 17
5 p.m. to midnight
February 18 & 19
10 a.m. to 9 p.m.
February 20
10 a.m. to 7 p.m.
February 23
6 p.m. to 9 p.m.
February 24
5 p.m. to 9 p.m.
February 25
10 a.m. to 9 p.m.
February 26
10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Bar Gibraltar

Festival du Voyageur offers an outdoor bar inside the four walls of Fort Gibraltar! Come join us for a drink at Bar Gibraltar and enjoy the festive ambiance. Come dance to the DJ’s beats, warm-up near the bonfires and prepare to be amazed by the fire juggler. We are sure you will experience something new and unforgettable. Open to all ages.

February 18
9:15 p.m. to 12 a.m.: DJ K Chedda
February 19
9:15 p.m. to 12 a.m.: Boogey the Beat
February 24
9:15 p.m. to 12 a.m.: VOTHRA
February 25
9:15 p.m. to 12 a.m.: Mama Cutsworth

Kitchen Party

Take in an authentic voyageur style ho-down in the Cabane des Hivernants inside Fort Gibraltar! Come and listen to historical music featuring traditional instruments and great sing along tunes. Dance along with the voyageurs as they practice their jigging!

Each night in the Hivernants’ Cabin.

Red River Skirmish

Watch an authentic display of historical military tactics right inside Voyageur Park! La Compagnie de La Vérendrye and The Forces of Lord Selkirk will be drilling with flintlock muskets and black powder, demonstrating how battles were fought years ago. Join them in Fort Gibraltar before and after the battle, and discuss the reality of a soldier’s life in the 18th and 19th centuries.

February 19 – 12:30 p.m. to 1 p.m.
February 26 – 12:30 p.m. to 1 p.m.

Voyageur Apprentice Workshops

Keeping traditions alive has always been an important part of what the Festival du Voyageur does. This is why we invite you to become an apprentice voyageur! For the duration of the festival we will be presenting a series of workshops and demonstrations designed to showcase the arts and crafts practiced by our ancestors. Come and experience what life was like in days gone by through hands-on demonstrations and interactive lectures. Knowledgeable artists and craftspeople will teach you how to do a number of important skills that would have been common knowledge to any voyageur. Let’s preserve these techniques and pass on important skills to future generations. Please note that demonstrations will take place from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. and the workshops will take place from 3 p.m. to 6 p.m. Workshops will be presented on a variety of topics, including:

  • Métis beading
  • Voyageur Haversack Making
  • Flint-Knapping
  • Carving & Woodworking
  • Coopering
  • Traditional Hide Tanning
  • Interactive Presentations
  • And many many more

Take home a souvenir that you made, just remember to pass that skill along and have fun! For more information regarding workshop schedules please visit www.heho.ca, consult our mobile app, or visit the 233-ALLÔ information centre in Voyageur Park or the friendly voyageurs at Fort Gibraltar. Please note that most workshops will take place on the 2nd floor of the Maison du Bourgeois, remember to show up early; space is limited.

Click here for more information.

VOYAGEUR PARK

img01

Check out our Boutique

Signup for updates

Fort Gibraltar

Découvrez un sens d’aventure et de camaraderie!

Originalement construit à la fourche des rivières Rouge et Assiniboine en 1809-10, le Fort Gibraltar était un poste de traite de la Compagnie du Nord-ouest. Il a joué un rôle impressionnant dans le développement de la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge et le conflit qui opposait les géants de la traite : la CNO et la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson.

Dans cette atmosphère d’âpre rivalité, nos voyageurs continuèrent à travailler et à manifester leur « joie de vivre » en chantant, dansant et en jouant des jeux. Venez découvrir ce sens d’aventure et de camaraderie!

Winnipeg était un endroit différent à l’hiver 1815. Le Fort Gibraltar est formé de plusieurs cabanes remplies d’interprètes costumés prêts à vous parler des jours d’antan. Apprenez le métier du commis. Observez le travail des artisans traditionnels, tels que le forgeron et le charpentier. Écoutez aux mélodies de nos ancêtres par l’entremise d’histoires et de musique. Venez découvrir le vrai sens de la devise de la CNO « Persévérance » en explorant notre passé passionnant.

Heures d’interprétation

17 février
17 h à minuit
18 février
10 h à 21 h (thème : l’arrivée d’un groupe de trappeurs et d’échangeurs métis/hommes libres)
19 février
10 h à 21 h (thème : le match de boxe)
20 février
10 h à 19 h (thème : la planification d’une expédition de chasse ou de pêche)
23 février
18 h à 21 h
24 février
17 h à 21 h
25 février
10 h à 21 h (thème : un mariage à la façon du pays)
26 février
10 h à 17 h (thème : l’arrivée de lettres et de nouvelles)

Bar Gibraltar

Parc du Voyageur

img01

Visitez notre boutique

Abonnez-vous à notre bulletin

Le Festival du Voyageur offre un bar à l’intérieur des murs de la palissade du Fort Gibraltar. Venez prendre un verre tout en appréciant l’ambiance festive! Dansez au rythme des DJ, réchauffez-vous près des feux de camp et soyez émerveillé par le jongleur de feu. Préparez-vous pour une expérience éblouissante, unique et inoubliable. Ouvert à tous les âges.

18 février
21 h 15 à minuit : Boogey the Beat
19 février
21 h 15 à minuit : DJ K CHEDDA
24 février
21 h 15 à minuit : VOTHRA
25 février
21 h 15 à minuit : Mama Cutsworth

Party de Cuisine

Venez friser un rigodon et taper la galette dans la Cabane des hivernants au Fort Gibraltar. Joignez-nous en chansons traditionnelles menées par des musiciens énergiques. Réchauffez-vous en dansant la gigue avec nos voyageurs!

Chaque soir dans la cabane des hivernants.

Démonstration Militaire

Assistez à une démonstration authentique de tactiques militaires historiques à l’intérieur du Parc du Voyageur! La Compagnie de La Vérendrye et The Forces of Lord Selkirk feront des manœuvres avec des mousquets à poudre noire pour démontrer comment les batailles se déroulaient dans le passé. Vous pouvez suivre la bataille de ses débuts devant le Fort Gibraltar jusqu’à sa fin en face de la tour nord. On vous invite de rejoindre les soldats dans le Fort Gibraltar après la bataille pour discuter de la réalité de la vie quotidienne d’un soldat pendant les 18e et 19e siècles.

Dimanche 19 février à 12 h 30 – Fort Gibraltar
Dimanche 26 février à 12 h 30 – Fort Gibraltar

Ateliers d’apprentis voyageurs

Conserver les traditions a toujours été une partie intégrale du Festival du Voyageur. C’est pourquoi nous vous invitons à devenir un apprenti voyageur ! Pendant la durée du festival, nous présenterons une série d’ateliers et de démonstrations conçus dans le but de promouvoir les arts et métiers pratiqués par nos ancêtres. Venez faire l’expérience de ce qu’était la vie dans le temps à travers des démonstrations et exposés interactifs. Des artistes et des artisans qualifiés vous enseigneront plusieurs compétences importantes qui étaient des notoriétés publiques dans le monde des voyageurs. Préservons ces techniques afin de les transmettre aux générations futures. À noter que les démonstrations auront lieu de 11 h à 14 h et les ateliers de 15 h à 18 h. Les ateliers porteront sur plusieurs sujets, incluant :

  • La fabrication de havresac
  • Artisanat en bois
  • Le perlage métis
  • Le taillage d’outils en silex
  • La tonnellerie
  • Tannage avec de la cervelle
  • Présentations interactives
  • Et plus encore

Ramenez un souvenir que vous avez fait vous-même à la maison, mais souvenez-vous de transmettre votre nouveau talent et de vous amuser! Pour plus d’information par rapport aux horaires des ateliers, veuillez consulter notre site web au www.heho.ca, notre application mobile ou les voyageurs amicaux au Fort Gibraltar. Veuillez noter que la plupart des ateliers se passeront au 2e étage de la Maison du Bourgeois. Arrivez tôt, les places sont limitées.

Cliquez ici pour plus de détails.